Someone Please Explain What’s Happening Right Now.

Because I do not get it.

How do you even respond to that?

I understand typos.  I get that some people switch out their “their, there, and they’re”s.  I can even forgive an auto-correct gone wrong.  Even I am no stranger to auto-correct not auto-correcting on my phone, so i sometimes type “fir” when I mean “for” and etc.  I don’t give people a hard time about it, and unless it’s a consistent pattern, I don’t get all up in arms.

But this is just ridiculous.  I was never, ever on board with dropping “you” to “u”, or “are” to “r”.  it’s TWO EXTRA LETTERS, and unless you’re trying to fit in 140 characters on Twitter and desperately seeking some characters to trim, it’s just not acceptable.  But dropping the “e” off of words, making sentences into questions and vice-versa…and a space after punctuation?  WTF.

The worst part is, this is only an example of what I see everywhere.  And it’s not isolated to our youths.  The above example is an older woman who, of all people in this world, should be versed in proper grammar and spelling and punctuation usage…given that she (and I) lived in an age where we had to write letters to communicate, without the help of a keyboard and spell-check.

I don’t understand this trend and I cannot tell you how much I am against it.  I don’t care who gets mad and defends it, because to me, typing like this is the equivalent of letting your 12 year old daughter go to school wearing a see-through dress and no underwear.  In person, you are judged by how you dress and how you present yourself.  If you walk around without having showered two weeks and wearing dirty or slutty clothes, you are portraying yourself in a certain way and your relationships and work opportunities are a direct reflection of this.  The same can, and is, said about your online presence.  People can’t see your clothing, so all they have to go on is how you present yourself in written form.  It’s shocking to me that people like this even have jobs.  And yet this kind of idiocy is defended as being “easier” and I’m called arrogant, closed-minded, or snobby for being upset by it.

This is the same kind of lunacy that seems to be widespread these days, where Rhodes Scholars are shamed as “elitists” and airheads like Herman Cain are lauded as “real people” to be looked up to and elected as President.

It’s absolutely mind-boggling to me.

But at least if I can’t make people start to care about their own grammar and spelling, I can laugh at one amazing example:

http://textsfrombennett.tumblr.com/

Go there, and laugh with me and Mac.

14 comments on “Someone Please Explain What’s Happening Right Now.

  1. Laura says:

    I hate typing on my phone. For me, “you” isn’t three letters; it’s usually something like T-backspace-Y-P-backspace-I-backspace-I-backspace-O-Y-backspace-U, which is eight letters plus five backspaces. But I still can’t bring myself to just type “u” instead.

  2. Jason says:

    Some people are just really dumb. Other people are just super lazy and don’t want to have to spell anything. I give you credit for saying that though.

  3. I think it’s an affectation. I’d have to really think about it to type “u” instead of “you,” never mind all the other abbreviations (point taken about the phone, though, because that’s cumbersome enough to motivate shortcut spelling). For our family it’s a good thing, because one of my parents is an editor. We need poor writers to survive ;)
    Really enjoyed the post!

  4. mustachemiss says:

    Obviously I hate this as well :) haha FB irritates me!

  5. lorrelee1970 says:

    Pretty sure they write like they talk and believe in poor spelling and grammar as well. Of course, they don’t know they believe in it.

    Unerstan wha I’m sayin?

    • I’m sorry, I’m going to need you to speak in a readable dialect, mkay. :D

      And as Disney says: “If you believe in something hard enough, I will smack the taste out of your mouth if you ever talk with poor grammar again.”

      At least, I think that’s what he says.

      I relish that there are people like you out there who embrace the extra 3.2 seconds it takes to type correctly, or spell-check. THANK YOU!!!

  6. Beyond anything, I hate people who couldn’t be bothered spelling things correctly. I will sit there and change it, letting them get furious at me and continue. The fun of making them angry makes my need to gouge out my eyes at their terrible typing skills disappear.

  7. P.A.Z. says:

    Hehe. Hello. I’m with you on this. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves. Sometimes, though, I try to give them benefit of the doubt and tell myself that maybe they have a learning disability like dyslexia or something, but I tend to quickly rule that one out. You’d probably enjoy damnyouautocorrect[dot]com.

    In other news, I’m a terrible spelar. Kudos. ;-)

Tell Me Something Good

